The Alliance of Hispanic Serving Institution Educators (AHSIE) exists to support the work of the nation’s Hispanic Serving Institutions (HSIs) as they seek to provide quality, relevant educational opportunities to large and growing numbers of underserved populations, particularly Hispanic students. All of the Alliance’s activities directly benefit practitioners and educators at HSIs through measures that involve cooperation, networking, partnerships, information-sharing, technical assistance and collaboration.

Members of the Alliance share professional development opportunities, find technical assistance for the implementation of Title V funding and other capacity-building projects and use an annual national conference as a forum to disseminate “best practices” for improving educational outcomes for students.

In addition, the Alliance also fosters cooperation and collaboration among member institutions in order to produce more competitive grant applications to federal agencies that provide funding for higher education. The Alliance will also act as a liaison between federal agencies and its member institutions.


AHSIE Council Members


Kevin Vichcales, PhD


Council Term: 2018-2021

Jeannie G. Kim, PhD

AVP Operational & External Relations

VP Conference


David Trujillo, MA

AVP Stand Alone Institutes


Victor Davila, MA

VP Finance & Treasurer

Council Term: 2019 – 2022


Moises Almendariz, MA

VP Governance & Membership

Council Term: 2018-2021


Judy Castro, PhD

AVP Finance & Treasurer

Council Term: 2019-2022


Elizabeth Gonzalez, PhD

AVP Marketing & PR

Council Term: 2019-2022

Robert Gutierrez, MA

AVP Governance & Membership

Council Term: 2017-2020


Barbara Knotts, EdD

VP Marketing & PR

Council Term: 2017-2020

Daniel Loera, EdD

AVP Conference Institutes

Council Term: 2018-2020

Leticia P. López, PhD

AVP Organizational Development

Council Term: 2018-2021

Dr. Maria Martinez-Cosio

VP Journal

Council Term: 2018-2021


Delilah Marquez

AVP Conference Sponsorships & Development

Council Term: 2019-2022

Yajaira Mejia, PhD

VP Stand Alone Institutes

Council Term: 2018-2021

Rebecca Teague, MPA

AVP Journal

Council Term: 2018-2021

Paloma Vargas, PhD

AVP Conference

Council Term: 2018-2021